I Have a Dream


I spent an awesome, breathtaking moment enjoying the landscape of D.C. in the exact spot where Martin Luther King, Jr. addressed the nation.

I spent an awesome, breathtaking moment enjoying the landscape of D.C. in the exact spot where Martin Luther King, Jr. addressed the nation.

“Darkness cannot drive out darkness; only light can do that. Hate cannot drive out hate; only love can do that.” –Martin Luther King, Jr.

Last night my older sister and I found ourselves reminiscing about our class trips that we took during each of our senior years in high school, mine less than a year ago. As we were talking we discussed some of the various sites we each visited. Something was missing from her excursion though, one of the newest monuments added to the collection in Washington D.C.: The Martin Luther King, Jr. Monument.

How fitting seeing as today is Martin Luther King, Jr. Day, right? I would have to say that this monument and my nightitme walking tour of D.C. is one of my favorite memories. Although loaded with tourists at times, there’s not many serene places out there like it. Also, that night I made my way to the top of the Lincoln Memorial, but had to stop and take a picture on the spot where the “I Have a Dream Speech” was delivered. I believe, if I remember correctly, it’s marked by a cement embedded star.

The Martin Luther King Jr. Memorial opened 48 years following the "I Have a Dream Speech" delivery.

The Martin Luther King Jr. Memorial opened 48 years following the “I Have a Dream Speech” delivery.

We'd like to hear from you. Share what you think!

