“A Senseless Tragedy”


It’s been omnipresent on Friday and over the weekend: The tragedy surrounding the community of Newtown, Connecticut. I think it’s safe to say that most of us of tired of hearing about it from the media, and here I am, poisoning my blog page with the pain and hurt of such evil events. When I first heard of the event in a live break-in from NBC, like so many others, I was shocked. As details unfolded I was sickened to my stomach. And then, I was tired. Exhausted of listening to the coverage. Burdened by the sorrow felt by those citizens of Newtown. Confused of trying to make sense out of the senseless. How do we comprehend a tragedy such as this? How do we recover? What is wrong with society? These questions I do not have answers to.

So instead of focusing on the grief that we’re all so tired of hearing about, I’m going to focus anything optimistic that can come out of the fate of Sandy Hook Elementary. First, I think Ann Curry said it best, “Imagine if we all committed 20 acts of kindness to honor the lost children of Newtown..(or 26 acts, including the heroic teachers.) I’m in. A growing number on Twitter are in. #20Acts #26Acts”

Second, for the lives of those who have been so unexpectedly ended, let’s remember them and what they brought into the world and the legacy of bravery they’ve left behind–students and teachers alike.

Courtesy: NBC

Courtesy: NBC

 

We'd like to hear from you. Share what you think!

