Hitting the Books Again… Only This Time in College


As many celebrated the Labor Day holiday last weekend, that means that it’s time to head back to school, fall will rapidly be upon us, and students will be sifting though volumized textbooks once again. This year, however, it’s a bit of a change of scenery. I’m not sure if I’ve recanted in one of my previous posts that I’ve graduated from our local high school back in June, I’m now off pursuing a degree in broadcast journalism at Winona State University in Winona, Minnesota.

Winona State University, located in the southeastern corner of Minnesota, is home of the Warriors. A college of nearly 10,000 students. (Photo Credit: U.S. News: Education Colleges)

Now three weeks in to my first semester, I can say it’s been a rollercoaster ride for the first couple of class sessions. From a freshman’s point of view… what a change! New people, different atmospheres, new liberations and freedoms, diverse curriculum. This all can be quite a shock to the system as it was for me. I went from having a class of roughly 20 people and a school of approximately 350 to having JUST a freshmen class of 1,800. Yes, readers I understand that even this is considered a small university. But think of this for a moment, it took me around 2 days to process. I am now going to school with a group of freshmen that is 90 times bigger than my graduating class from Lanesboro and that is 6 times bigger than the whole school put together!

The first week was an eye opener, realizing that I’m the small fish in the big pond. So many questions were locked into my mind: Can I do this? Can I do this for four years?! How should I adjust my schedule? Should I drop this class/add that class/leave my schedule alone?!!!? Obviously, with some guidance I was able to sort through the mess of thoughts.

Currently, I’m actually enjoying what I’m doing. Hopefully I’ll have many more stories to tell right here on my blog as I make the adventure though college! And for the rest of the skeptical freshmen out there, don’t forget to BREATHE! It’s the best advice I can give.

In a comment, feel free to share your first college experiences or where you attended a post-secondary institution!

2 thoughts on “Hitting the Books Again… Only This Time in College

We'd like to hear from you. Share what you think!

